Challenger Deep

Challenger Deep

BookPage Teen Top Pick, May 2015

Characters with a mental illness often find a place in literature, but they are infrequently the main character and seldom found in young adult novels. Although teens with psychoses garner plenty of attention in the news today, the fictional world is still catching up. Award-winning Continue reading

Reagan

Reagan

Ronald Reagan is trending. Everyone from Ted Cruz to Barack Obama sings his praises. Why is Reagan so popular? Was it his movie-star looks? His cowboy swagger? His “America first” doctrine? H.W. Brands covers it all in his thorough biography, Reagan.

Don’t look for any new ground to be broken here. But if you Continue reading

The Quartet

The Quartet

Nationhood was never a goal of the American Revolution. The Declaration of Independence refers to “Free and Independent States.” After the Revolutionary War ended, a majority of the population was opposed or indifferent to a transition from individual states to a federal government. In his brilliant and exciting Continue reading

We All Looked Up

We All Looked Up

High school seniors Peter, Anita, Andy and Eliza-aka the jock, Miss Perfect, the slacker and Miss Promiscuous-join forces in this apocalyptic debut. Peter is a popular basketball player dealing with feelings for Eliza, despite having a girlfriend. Anita seems to have the perfect life, including great grades, but Continue reading

What Comes Next and How to Like It

What Comes Next and How to Like It

Stephen King called Abigail Thomas’ memoir A Three Dog Life “the best memoir I have ever read,” and Thomas has another winner with her latest, What Comes Next and How to Like It.

The previous book focused on life after a tragic accident left Thomas’ husband brain damaged and, seven years later, dead. What Comes Continue reading

Dearest Rogue

Dearest Rogue

Elizabeth Hoyt is one of the hottest authors in romance today, and the eighth book in her Maiden Lane series captures every tender, charming reason for her popularity. Dearest Rogue is a sexy, sweet and emotionally satisfying historical read.

Lady Phoebe Batten is exactly like other young society women, excepting Continue reading

The Nurses

The Nurses

With 3.5 million nurses in the United States, they are the country’s largest group of healthcare providers. So it’s not surprising that after investigating sororities, geeks, overachievers and more, award-winning journalist Alexandra Robbins has turned her attention to The Nurses.

After interviewing hundreds, Continue reading

A Crown for Cold Silver

A Crown for Cold Silver

Touted as the perfect fare for readers who love George R.R. Martin and Joe Abercrombie, Alex Marshall’s A Crown for Cold Silver presents the type of politically complicated, morally gray terrain associated with those authors.

After her retirement is brutally interrupted by Imperial troops, Zosia resolves to have Continue reading

God Help the Child

God Help the Child

The latest work from Nobel Prize winner Toni Morrison is puzzling until you realize that it’s actually a fairy tale. How else to describe a story about a woman who is so bereft without the man in her life that the lack of him causes her to regress back to childhood-literally. Bride, the book’s beautiful, very young Continue reading